Florida Personal Injury Lawyers

Our Fee Promise: No Recovery, You Owe Us Nothing


Understanding Your Pensacola Accident Claim

FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION

No Recovery, You Owe Us Nothing


What Do You Need to Know After an Accident? Find Out from Our Pensacola Accident Lawyers 

If you have been injured in an accident and have lots of questions, you are not alone. Nearly every day, our Pensacola accident lawyers hear from individuals who have been seriously injured – or whose loved ones have been seriously injured – due to car crashes, falls, medical mistakes and other accidents. While we encourage you to schedule a free consultation so that we can answer your specific questions in detail, here are the answers to some of the most-common questions we get from prospective personal injury clients:

Q: How do I know if I am entitled to financial compensation?

After an accident, determining if you are entitled to financial compensation requires a prompt investigation. This is one of the most-important reasons why we encourage all accident victims to speak with an attorney as soon as possible. Based on the evidence that is available, your attorney will be able to assess both (i) whether you have a claim, and (ii) if so, how much you may be entitled to recover.

Q: How long do I have to file a claim in Florida?

The amount of time you have to file a claim depends on the specific type of accident in which you or your loved one was injured. For example, in the case of a non-fatal car accident, you generally have four years from the date of the accident to file a claim. However, if you need to file a claim for wrongful death, then the statute of limitations is reduced from four years to two. In any case, there is no reason to wait any longer than necessary, and there are actually several reasons why it will be beneficial to initiate your claim as soon as possible. 

Q: What if the accident was partially my fault?

In cases in which multiple parties are to blame for injuries sustained in an accident, Florida follows the rule of “pure comparative fault.” This means that the amount of your financial recovery will be reduced in proportion to your percentage of fault (i.e. if you were 10 percent at fault, you would be entitled to recover 90 percent of your losses). However, before assuming that you were partially at fault – or making any other assumptions about your legal rights – you need to discuss your case with an attorney.

Q: What if I didn’t call the police from the scene of the accident?

That’s okay. While having a police report helps, there are many other ways that our Pensacola accident lawyers can prove your right to financial compensation. Once again, it is important that you contact us promptly so that we can begin our investigation as soon as possible. 

Q: How much will it cost to hire a Pensacola lawyer?

Our injury law firm does not charge any up-front fees or costs, and we handle all accident claims “on contingency.” This means that you only pay if we win. This applies to our legal fees as well as any costs we incur on your behalf in the process of pursuing your claim.

Get Your Questions Answered By Knowledgeable Pensacola Accident Lawyers

For answers to your specific questions, please contact us to schedule a free initial consultation with one of our experienced Pensacola accident lawyers. You can call us 24/7 at 888-829-3357, or send us your contact information and we will respond shortly.  


West Palm Beach

Searcy Denney Scarola Barnhart & Shipley, PA Searcy Denney Scarola Barnhart & Shipley Logo 2139 Palm Beach Lakes Blvd.
West Palm Beach, FL 33409-6601
Toll-free: (800) 780-8607
Phone: (561) 686-6300
En Espanol: (800) 220-7006

Tallahassee

Searcy Denney Scarola Barnhart & Shipley, PA Searcy Denney Scarola Barnhart & Shipley Logo The Towle House, 517 N. Calhoun St.
Tallahassee, FL 32301-1231
Toll-free: (888) 549-7011
Phone: (850) 224-7600
En Espanol: (800) 220-7006


Free Initial Consultation

Florida personal injury lawyers with a passion for justice.